Finding Hidden Gluten in Food Products!

Many food products and food additives contain hidden gluten. Gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley and rye is toxic to individuals diagnosed with celiac disease. If one must follow a gluten free diet for survival, it is imperative to know which food products and food additives contain hidden gluten, after all, there are many products we would never suspect.

Wheat, barley and rye are common ingredients added to food products, for these ingredients are used as thickeners, binders and fillers, among other purposes. Unfortunately, these ingredients are not always clearly marked on ingredients lists, making it very difficult to determine if in fact gluten is present. This can be challenging for someone who needs to completely avoid it.


The following list outlines various ingredients you may find on food labels that contain gluten. Keep in mind, if for any reason there is doubt, contact the food manufacturer or completely avoid the food product all together.

Always select organic foods to reduce harmful chemical consumption.

  • Barley starch
  • Binder
  • Bran
  • Bulgur
  • Cereal
  • Cereal protein
  • Commercial baked goods
  • Couscous
  • Cracker meal
  • Durum wheat
  • Fillers
  • Flour
  • Graham
  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein unless made from corn or soy
  • Kamut
  • Malt, malt vinegars and other malt flavourings
  • Malted barley
  • Matzo
  • Modified Food Starch unless made from arrowroot, corn, potato or tapioca
  • Oat bran
  • Oat germ
  • Oatmeal
  • Orzo
  • Pearl barley
  • Porridge oats
  • Rolled oats
  • Rusk
  • Rye flour
  • Rye starch
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Tabbouleh
  • Thickener
  • Triticale
  • Vegetable gum
  • Vegetable starch
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat germ
  • Wheat meal
  • Wheat rusk
  • Wheat starch

Be cautious of the following food products, for some brands contain gluten. In most cases, gluten free varieties are available.

  • Artificial creams
  • Baking powder
  • Barbecue sauce
  • Beer, lager, ales, other barley containing drinks
  • Bread crumbs
  • Brewers yeast
  • Broth cubes, powders or liquids
  • Candy coated chocolate
  • Cheese spreads
  • Chewing gum
  • Coffee from vending machines
  • Communion wafers
  • Corn Tortillas
  • Deep fried food (can be contaminated with gluten products)
  • Dry roasted nuts
  • Emulsifiers
  • Flavoured potato chips
  • Frozen French fries
  • Frozen Vegetables in sauce/seasonings
  • Hydrolyzed Plant Protein
  • Ice cream
  • Imitation seafood
  • Ketchup
  • Licorice
  • Marinades
  • Medications and vitamins
  • Mustard
  • Noodles
  • Oats
  • Packaged rice mixes
  • Packs of shredded cheese
  • Pasta
  • Pasta sauce
  • Play dough
  • Puddings/Pie filling
  • Pretzels
  • Processed meats
  • Ready made meals
  • Ready to eat cereals
  • Reduced fat products
  • Salad dressings and mayonnaise
  • Sauce and gravy packets
  • Soba noodles
  • Soups
  • Soy sauce
  • Spices (gluten may be use as a filler)

It is imperative for an individual with celiac disease to eat gluten free foods. Knowing what ingredients contain hidden gluten and what food products to be cautious of makes it much easier. This information is invaluable for these individuals, so they can maintain their good health.

Be cautious and eat well.

Return to Gluten Free Diet

Return From Hidden Gluten to Eating Healthy

Great Resources

Here are some great books I recommend. These books have helped me tremendously by providing me with great information for a gluten free lifestyle and the recipes are fantastic. Enjoy!



Gluten Free Marketplace

If you're looking to buy gluten free food online check out this link, they offer a variety of great products.

200w x 100h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods